FacileThings: Update of the Account sectionAUTHOR: Francisco Sáez
Today we have redesigned and updated the Account section of FacileThings, that is, where you have your personal data, set your preferences and define how you integrate FacileThings with other tools.
As always, we have taken advantage of the redesign to improve things and add new features that many users had requested.
Export your data
In the Account section, Settings tab, you have an Export Data button that allows you to obtain a complete copy of your GTD system at the time you want.
Clicking the button will generate a file with all your data in XML format (a standard format easy to read that can be used by other tools). You do not need to wait for it. When the file is available, you will receive an email with a link to download it. For security purposes, this link will be valid for 24 hours.
Cancel your account
We do not want you to go, but if you do, it should be a simple process for you. Now you can cancel your account at any time, without having to send us an email requesting the cancelation. Personally, I hate when I want to unsubscribe from a service and everything are problems.
Actually, when you cancel your account you only deactivate it. This means that you will not be able to access again and you will not be charged anymore.
Your data will remain “alive” for a 30 days period, during which you can reactivate your account if needed. After canceling your account, you will receive an email with a link so you can reactivate it yourself while your data exist.
Integrate with other tools
We have changed the internal structure that establishes the connection and integration with other services, allowing you to revoke access to these tools from FacileThings.
In addition, the Evernote guys have helped us make a smoother, more complete integration, according to their guidelines and best practices criteria.
New integration with Dropbox
We have added the ability to use Dropbox files as reference material.
Integration with Dropbox does not need a permanent authorization.
To link Dropbox files, you must use the attach file option available on the elements belonging to the Reference Material list. Dropbox will request your credentials if you are not connected yet, and will allow you to browse your files and choose one:
Stuff we have removed
As important than adding new features, is to eliminate things that are not essential. This simplifies your work and allows us to concentrate our efforts on what is really important.
We have eliminated the Delicious integration, since it is not very much in vogue lately and it was used for less than 1% of our users.
We have also eliminated the Tags section. It did not provide any added value, since tags are created and deleted automatically, and you can search all items that have a tag with the Search box in the Dashboard section.